7 days of film: the gentlemen (2019)

commemini
3 min readJun 11, 2024

--

I like civilized violence. Not organized crime.

That’s the difference between say, this movie and The Godfather or Power.

There’s just something about gangsters when they’re from the UK that makes it so posh. The suits, the diction, the kettles (watches in thug speech) it all just feels so salacious.

If I weren’t already sold out to the Lord, I’d think about selling myself to Mickey’s (played by Matthew McConaughey) weed game ’cause it is precise. It is criminality at its cleanest. His right hand man, Raymond (played by Charlie Hunnam) even has OCD about dirt. He literally twitches when he thinks about it.

Oh, my heart melts for gentrification.

In case you haven’t seen it and need an actual review, here is mine:

Mickey, a well-founded skunkamola king, is ready to retire and is seeking a worthy buyer to his franchise but is met with some resistance as word begins to spread about his exit. What’s to say? The bush game has and always will be lucrative.

This is a love story. Yes. Mickey is getting out of the game, not only so it can gain a name with a clean past but also so he can love his wife. What a man, eh? Watch this;

You may be slightly put off by Fletcher (bloodhound journalist, paid to ruin Mickey) and his unwanted and frankly worrisome advances towards Raymond. I mean this is a movie about white widow super cheese after all, what’s all this flirting for, Fletch?

This film flew under the radar after its release because of awful timing. The pandemic overshadowed this Guy Ritchie masterpiece but it seems to have been worth it in the end because…queue drum roll please…

We got a sequel! AHHHHHH!!!!

I cannot explain the joy I felt when I heard the news. You’d think I’d had a baby or something equally life-changing.

The series was excellent, just as posh and just as insane as the movie. The new cast, with special favoritism to the lead, Eddie Horniman, played by Theo James (him in suits gave me life I didn’t know I needed) was absolutely stellar. I love a man in a suits but I wasn’t ready for the jaw-dropping, eye-bulging, arrhythmia-inducing gift that was Theo James in this series. It’s not even just him.

Susie Glass (played by Kaya Scodelario) was styled like a goddess. Like Fletcher would say, ‘I’d like to just have teeny rummage in her closet.’ The stylist for the movie was passionate, I must say.

God, maybe the old money aesthetic is my vice. This movie is aesthetically soothing and impressively well-written. 100000/10.

Go watch the movie. Then when you’ve finished, watch the series. It’s a spiritual experience, I promise you.

It occurs to me you may need a little more convincing, so here, watch the trailers for both the movie and the seris. Don’t worry, they’re standalones, you don’t have to watch one to understand the other. If you feel like a movie, watch the movie, if you feel like a series, watch the series. Then watch the other, how dare you try and skip out of watching even one of these?? Unbelievable.

The Gentlemen (2019) Movie
The Gentlemen (2024 — ) Series

--

--